Thumbnail Image

Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat

Assam Agricultural University is the first institution of its kind in the whole of North-Eastern Region of India. The main goal of this institution is to produce globally competitive human resources in farm sectorand to carry out research in both conventional and frontier areas for production optimization as well as to disseminate the generated technologies as public good for benefitting the food growers/produces and traders involved in the sector while emphasizing on sustainability, equity and overall food security at household level. Genesis of AAU - The embryo of the agricultural research in the state of Assam was formed as early as 1897 with the establishment of the Upper Shillong Experimental Farm (now in Meghalaya) just after about a decade of creation of the agricultural department in 1882. However, the seeds of agricultural research in today’s Assam were sown in the dawn of the twentieth century with the establishment of two Rice Experimental Stations, one at Karimganj in Barak valley in 1913 and the other at Titabor in Brahmaputra valley in 1923. Subsequent to these research stations, a number of research stations were established to conduct research on important crops, more specifically, jute, pulses, oilseeds etc. The Assam Agricultural University was established on April 1, 1969 under The Assam Agricultural University Act, 1968’ with the mandate of imparting farm education, conduct research in agriculture and allied sciences and to effectively disseminate technologies so generated. Before establishment of the University, there were altogether 17 research schemes/projects in the state under the Department of Agriculture. By July 1973, all the research projects and 10 experimental farms were transferred by the Government of Assam to the AAU which already inherited the College of Agriculture and its farm at Barbheta, Jorhat and College of Veterinary Sciences at Khanapara, Guwahati. Subsequently, College of Community Science at Jorhat (1969), College of Fisheries at Raha (1988), Biswanath College of Agriculture at Biswanath Chariali (1988) and Lakhimpur College of Veterinary Science at Joyhing, North Lakhimpur (1988) were established. Presently, the University has three more colleges under its jurisdiction, viz., Sarat Chandra Singha College of Agriculture, Chapar, College of Horticulture, Nalbari & College of Sericulture, Titabar. Similarly, few more regional research stations at Shillongani, Diphu, Gossaigaon, Lakhimpur; and commodity research stations at Kahikuchi, Buralikson, Tinsukia, Kharua, Burnihat and Mandira were added to generate location and crop specific agricultural production packages.


Search Results

Now showing 1 - 1 of 1
  • ThesisItemOpen Access
    (AAU, Jorhat, 2018) Deka, Pampi; Saikia, Ananta
    Investigations were carried out at the Departments of Horticulture and the Department of Agricultural Biotechnology, Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat, during 2016-2018 on yoghurt developement from non-dairy plant sources like taro and tapioca. The yoghurts were prepared by infusing taro and tapioca in soymilk using bacterial cultures collected from the Depatment of Agricultural Biotechnology and isolates from commercial yoghurts. Isolated strains were identified as Streptococcus thermophilus PD5 MH569615, L. delbrueckii subsp. lactis PD7 MH569616 and L. brevis PD8 MH569617 for milk fermentation with the help of 16S rDNA gene sequencing. Those strains were phylogenetically similar with their related species. Through sensory evaluation of yoghurt samples, four yoghurts were selected as best and those samples were AB9 (1:9 taro-soy yoghurt; 1:1 S. thermophilus and L. delbrueckii subsp. lactis), CD19 (1:9 tapioca-soy yoghurt; 1:1 S. thermophilus and L. delbrueckii subsp. lactis), CDY (1:9 tapioca-soy yoghurt; 1:1 S. thermophilus and L. brevis), and CDZ (1.5:8.5 tapioca-soy yoghurt; 1:1 S. thermophilus and L. brevis). The selected yoghurt samples were subject to physio-biochemical and microbiological analysis which revealed that yoghurt AB9 contained the highest protein (6.47 g 100 g-1), fibre (0.25 g 100 g-1), viscosity (684.03 cP); but with the lowest moisture (81.73%), carbohydrate (3.66 g 100 g-1), fat (0.28 g 100 g-1), acidity (0.34%) and pH (4.20). On the basis of sensory evaluation and physio-biochemical properties, AB9 (1:9 taro-soy yoghurt; 1:1 S. thermophilus and L. delbrueckii subsp. lactis) was considered as the best. The microbiological examination revealed that yoghurt had a shelf life of 6 days with Lactobacilli count of 6.63 log cfu mL-1, S. thermophilus count of 6.84 log cfu mL-1 with absence of coliform bacteria.